Home » News » MSU Faculty Inducted into National Academy of Inventors

MSU Faculty Inducted into National Academy of Inventors

The inaugural class of MSU NAI members will be inducted during the annual Innovation Celebration

Michigan State University launches its own chapter of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) on Wednesday April 23. Nineteen faculty members make up the inaugural Chapter. The induction of new members takes place directly preceeding the annual Innovation Celebration hosted by the MSU Innovation Center.

The National Academy of Inventors is a national non-profit organization with chapters at different universities and non-profit research institutions. The academy is dedicated to recognizing excellence in academic invention, enhancing the visibility of university and non-profit research institute technology, academic innovation and educating and mentoring innovative students.

MSU NAI Fellows include Drs Stephen Hsu, Satish Udpa and Marcos Dantus.

Stephen Hsu graduated from the California Institute of Technology and received his Ph.D.in physics from the University of California, Berkeley. Hsu was a Junior Fellow of the Harvard Society of Fellows.  Before joining MSU in 2012, Hsu was the director of the Institute for Theoretical Science and professor of physics at the University of Oregon. He also serves as scientific adviser to Beijing Genomics Institute and is a member of its Cognitive Genomics Lab. Dr. Stephen D. H. Hsu was named Michigan State University’s vice president for research and graduate studies in July 2012.

Satish Udpa earned his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Colorado State University and currently serves as the Executive Vice President for Administrative Services and University Distinguished Professor. He served as the Dean of the College of Engineering and Chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at MSU before his current appointment. Prior to joining MSU in 2001, Dr. Udpa was the Whitney Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University.

Marcos Dantus received his BA and MA degrees in Chemistry from Brandeis University. He received his Ph.D. from Caltech. Dantus has over 200 publications, and was named Inventor of the Year by Michigan State University given his 43 invention disclosures and 22 issued patents. Dantus regularly collaborates with different branches of the DoD and was invited to DARPA’s Scientist Helping America, Arbitrary Waveform Generation, and Program for Ultrafast Laser Science workshops.

The inaugural class includes the following members:

Evangelyn Alocilja, Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering

Dean Aslam, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jes Asmussen, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Bruce Dale, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Christoph Benning, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Marcos Dantus, Chemistry

Larry Drzal, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

James Jackson, Chemistry

Anil Jain, Computer Science and Engineering

Dennis Miller, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Norbert Mueller, Mechanical Engineering

Muralee Nair, Horticulture

Ramani Narayan, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Donald Penner, Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences

Thomas Pinnavaia, Chemistry

Robert Worden, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Ning Xi, Computer Science and Engineering

Stephen Hsu, Physics

Satish Udpa, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Article Gallery: