Food and AgBio at MSU

Browse this Section...
Home » Food and AgBio at MSU

Michigan State University (MSU) was created in 1855 as the state’s agriculture college. As the prototype Land Grant University, MSU provides science-based research to assist agriculture in Michigan and around the world as one of our top priorities. Today, MSU researchers are developing innovations and solutions to address the most daunting challenge of our time – the need to double the planet’s food supply by 2050 in order to meet a growing world population, while simultaneously developing sustainable energy solutions that reduce net carbon emissions.

PROUD. HARDWORKING. PRACTICAL. EMPOWERING. AWE-INSPIRING. For more than 125 years, MSU scientists have been conducting leading-edge research in the areas of food and agriculture production. Along the way, their discoveries have played critical roles around the globe in improving health, protecting natural resources, boosting profitability and enhancing lives. MSU AgBioResearch continues strong in our commitments to the land-grant philosophy and to our personal history that originated in 1888 as the Michigan Agricultural Experiment Station. And, while our mission has broadened over the years, agriculture and natural resources remain at the core of almost everything we do.

Wanted: Chestnut Growers

MSU grows chestnut industry, with demand far outpacing supply

MSU Releases New Strawberries: Redstart & Wasatch

First new day neutral fruit cultivars in more than 30 years

Spotted Wing Drosophila Proves Formidable Fruit Foe

Michigan State University seeks new ways to combat tiny invasive fly


Gemma Reguera
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

David Kramer
Hannah Distinguished Professor in Photosynthesis and Bioenergetics
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Bruno Basso
Department of Geological Sciences
MORE: MSU MTRAC Awards SIx AgBio Translation Grants More: MSU Pairs with ExxonMobil to Advance Biofuel Research More: Bruno Basso: Innovation of the Year Winner